The Board is segmented into three geographic zones of Central, North, and Shuswap. REALTOR® Offices, and Market Statistics for the whole Okanagan.

March 9, 2015

Board Announces 2015-2016 President and Directors

Kelowna, BC - The Okanagan Mainline Real Estate Board (OMREB) is pleased to announce the election of REALTOR® Christopher Miller of Kelowna to the position of President for the 2015-2016 term.

Miller was installed along with 11 Directors representing the Central Okanagan, North Okanagan and Shuswap zones at OMREB’s Annual General Meeting on Monday, March 9, 2015.  He replaces outgoing President Darcy Griffiths of Vernon who stays on as Past President. 

Miller became a licensed REALTOR® in 2004 and has been an OMREB member for 10 years.  An OMREB Director since 2012, he has served on the Finance and Audit, and Strategy and Governance committees, and held the Provincial Government and Community Affairs portfolio. 

“I am very proud to represent the professional REALTORS® of the Central Okanagan, North Okanagan, Shuswap and Revelstoke markets. I look forward to working with our Members and our Board to help further our professionalism, and supporting the many initiatives undertaken by our membership to attain a higher quality of life in our communities,” Miller says.

“As OMREB President, I will continue to help REALTORS© deliver value for their clients and to raise the profile of the Board within our local communities. We will continue to work with the Provincial and Federal governments as well as other stakeholders on issues that impact real estate and home ownership, and enhance housing opportunities for families in the Board area.” 

This is an exciting time in our industry, Miller notes.  He is optimistic that more buyers and sellers will be able to reach their housing goals in 2015 as consumer confidence strengthens, the economy improves, employment grows, and the market moves into more balanced conditions in the Okanagan-Shuswap.  

“I am confident that relatively low mortgage rates and moderate home prices within the Board areas will continue to allow more buyers to enter the market this year, and will encourage more investors to develop rental opportunities for those who are not in a position to buy.”

Anthony Bastiaanssen of West Kelowna is the Vice President of the Board of Directors for 2015-2016.  A licensed REALTOR® and Managing Broker, he has been an OMREB member for nine years (2006), and has served as a Director for the past year.  Bastiaanssen has also been a member of the Central Okanagan Zone Executive Committee since 2012.

OMREB’s 2015 to 2016 Board of Directors:
• Christopher Miller, Kelowna – President
• Anthony Bastiaanssen,  West Kelowna – Vice President
• Darcy Griffiths, Vernon – Past President
• Marv Beer, Salmon Arm – Shuswap Zone
• Tim Down, Kelowna – Central Zone 
• Dave Favell, Kelowna – Central Zone
• Maggie Garvey, Vernon – North Zone
• Kim Heizmann, Vernon – North Zone
• Derryanne Hubbard, Vernon – North Zone
• Doug Hubscher, Salmon Arm – Shuswap Zone
• Michael Loewen, Kelowna – Central Zone
• Tanis Read, Kelowna – Central Zone

The Okanagan Mainline Real Estate Board is comprised of 1,044 member REALTORS® and 92 real estate offices in the Southern Interior of BC, and the Board area covers the Central Okanagan, North Okanagan and Shuswap – from Peachland to Revelstoke. 

For the most comprehensive source of all real estate listings, home buying and selling information, visit the national websites at:  and   OMREB’s local public website and comprehensive Board-wide statistical information are is available at  OMREB listings are published in the MLS® Real Estate Review magazine available at all real estate offices and various other locations in the Central Okanagan, North Okanagan, the Shuswap and Revelstoke areas.

Click here for PDF of this release.

For more information:

Christopher Miller, President  (250) 860-1100        

Lynette Keyowski, Executive Director (250) 491-4560, Ext 226

Jan Bauman, Communications  (250) 491-4560, Ext 224  

© 2018 Okanagan Mainline Real Estate Board
Website Designed by Csek Creative.